Tecmo Columbus - Tupa Bowl

Columbus Ohio's 3rd Annual Tecmo Super Bowl Tournament


1st - $300

2nd - $150 

3rd - $75    

4th - $50

Silver Champion - $75

Silver Runner-Up - $25

Bronze Champion - $25


First phase: Four, eight-man double-elimination brackets will occur. The top two players in each bracket will go to the Gold Bracket. The eight players that lose their first two games will go to the Bronze Bracket. The other 16 players will go to the Silver Bracket, with their placement in the bracket occurring based on when their second loss happens during the tournament.

Gold Bracket: The eight players that make it out of the first phase will be placed in another eight-man, double-elimination bracket with prizes going to the top four players.

Silver Bracket: The 16 players that do not either finish in the top two places in their bracket, or do not lose their first two games in their bracket, will go to the Silver Bracket. This will be a single-elimination tournament, with prizes going to the top two players.

Bronze Bracket: The eight players that lose their first two matches will be placed in the Bronze Bracket. This will be a single-elimination tournament with the winner receiving prizes.

1. Team Selection & Coin Toss: A manual coin-flip will precede each game. The coin-flip winner will choose the matchup (i.e. the two teams). The coin-flip loser then selects either (a) one of the two teams or (b) his preferred controller. If the coin-flip loser selects his preferred controller, the coin-flip winner selects a team first.
2. “One Matchup Once” Rule: The coin-flip winner can only select a particular matchup once throughout the entire tournament. For instance, if Player A wins the toss and selects Cardinals-Falcons, Player A cannot call that exact matchup for the rest of the tournament. Player B, however, is free to select that matchup later in the tournament.
3. Customizing Playbooks and Lineup Changes: Customizing playbooks is permissible. You can access your “change” screen (screen where you check player conditions and make substitutions) only twice per half. This helps speed up the games.
4. WR/TE at RB: A WR/TE cannot carry the football unless it is a reverse. You can insert a WR or TE into a RB slot for lead blocking purposes, but he cannot carry the football. To further clarify, players such as Ernest Givins, Ricky Sanders, and Andre Rison cannot carry the football unless it is a reverse.
5. No Ties/Overtime: No game can end in a tie. If a game is tied when regulation concludes, competitors will proceed to OT. If no one scores in the first OT, a new game will begin and the first competitor to score will be declared the winner. So that one competitor does not start with the ball in each OT period, the kicking team in the first OT will be the receiving team in the new game (i.e. the second OT).
6. Lurching: Lurching is prohibited. If you want to rush with a DL, you must either go outside the offensive tackle or “popcorn” someone on the offensive line. Note that this rule does not apply to LBs. Here is a video explanation of lurching:

7. Nintendo Malfunctions: If there is an equipment failure in the first half, games will be replayed from the start. If equipment malfunctions in the 2nd half, only the second half is replayed. In that event, the scores from each half are added together to obtain a final score. If the game was uncompetitive or the equipment malfunctioned due to human error, the tourney organizers reserve the right to declare a winner without replaying any portion of the game.
8. Take care of the bar staff!


Prior to Gold/Silver/Bronze Bracket Play, We will be raffling off some video game and NFL memorabilia. Raffle tickets can be purchased at the tournament venue all morning up to the drawing. Some of the items include:

Bernie Kosar Cleveland Browns Jersey

Anthony Munoz Cincinnati Bengals Jersey

Tecmo Super Bowl NES Complete In Box

Tecmo Bowl Tiger Electronics Handheld Game

FREE Entry to Tecmo Cleveland (8/5/17)
$20 Gift Card to Play It! Games Movies and Music

$20 Gift Card to Warp Zone

1. Kevin Cabarello (KevinCabarello) - Columbus, OH
2. Phil Catlin - Columbus, OH

3. Kyle Kuhlman - Westerville, OH

4. Ryan McKay (UltimateWeapon) - N. Ridgeville, OH

5. Matt Diaz (Ol' Dirty Tecmo) - Lebanon, OH

6. James Persin (JimSocks13) - Oak Hill, OH

7. Jordan Willis (Woodshed) - Jackson, OH

8. Kyle Myers - Columbus, OH

9. Louis Buennagel (red98sethuthut) - Cheektowaga, NY

10.Travis Smith - Columbus, OH

11. Adam Hackney - Hilliard, OH

12. Zach Thompson - Powell, OH

13. David Rebman - Chillicothe, OH

14. Ryan Stewart (Ryan11p) - Hobart, IN

15. Jamie Ison - Chillicothe, OH

16. Francis Buennagel (mort1237) - Maywood, IL

17. Matt James - Fostoria, OH

18. Eric Kuhlman - Lima, OH

19. Greg Van Bebber - Dayton, OH

20. Jeff Lister - Columbus, OH

21. Larry Gohring - Columbus, OH